It’s Official: Cats Run This Country!

December 18, 2007 at 9:34 pm 3 comments

I was out of the country, and not really paying attention, during the last federal election, so I really don’t know too much about Canada’s current Prime minister, Stephen Harper. I tend to align myself more closely with central/left political thinking, although I do have some beliefs that are right of center. Even so, I’ve never voted for a Conservative candidate as other candidates tend to have more in common with my beliefs. I’m not against voting Conservative, I just haven’t met a candidate I’m willing to support, in my riding, yet.

But nobody told me that Mr. Harper was a cat man. Aparently he and his wife – whatever her name is, like I care* – support local shelters and have even fostered cats. That is pretty damn cool. Check out the link.

Personally I hate cats**, but damn! Nice going, PM.

Editor’s Notes:

* The authour actually does care but is just too lazy to look it up.

**The authour actually doesn’t hate cats. In fact the authour has a couple of his own cats that were found wandering the streets and causing trouble when they were kittens. The authour took the cats under his wing and they are now grown, productive citizens of the household. It could be said with some accuracy that the authour actually loves cats but doesn’t want to admit it due to potential damage to his ‘manly’ image. The authour now has to go pump some iron at the gym, just so you know.

Entry filed under: canadian, humour, politics. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Why Canadian Television is more ‘Canadian’ than American Television is ‘American.’ The Evolution of Democracy.

3 Comments Add your own

  • […] Cats and Confederation. Early in the history of this blog I wrote an article called “It’s Official: Cats Run This Country!” Little did I know at the time how true this was; it’s actually scary. I think […]

    Reply
  • 2. TheAgedCat  |  March 14, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    Dear C. Fraser,

    The Aged Cat (r.i.p.) never understood all the fuss about being “manly.” “Mankind,” he’d say, “should be aspiring to be more ‘catly’.”

    But as a human, coming to terms with the whole “middle-aged spinter with cats” stereotype, I hear ya. One has to be careful about one’s image.

    One blog ya might want to be aware of as they “out” manly felinophilic dudes such as yerself — Men & Cats.

    Love your blog,

    The Aged’s Asst.

    Reply
  • 3. C. Fraser  |  March 14, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    Thanks for the advice and support! I actually don’t worry too much about my image in association with cats – most of what I write I do so in an attempt to be funny.

    Still there does seem to be some kind of ‘issue’ with single guys and cats. I think cats are just too funny, though, and can’t see myself without a feline friend around.

    I’ll be sure to check out that site!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Sources of Humour

Humor-Blogs.com Humor Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory Blogerella

Recent Posts


