What I Like About Canadians

February 3, 2008 at 8:20 pm 2 comments

After writing a post called What I Don’t Like About Canadians, I decided that I needed to balance it (whatever ‘it’ may be) with a post detailing something that I LIKE about Canadians. This was more difficult than it might seem!

As with the previous post I wanted to focus on one trait. Rather than giving an over-arching reason why Canadians are likable, I wanted to pick a single good ‘thing’ about Canadians that differentiates them from good things about citizens of other countries. It had to be something that the people exhibit too, not something that the government or organized bodies bring to the world. I want to bring a good trait that you find in your average Canadian walking down the street. Again something that is distinctive from other good people in other countries.

I’ve been thinking about this for days now, and still haven’t come up with a ‘thing’ that I can write about. This doesn’t mean that Canadians aren’t good people. This just means that Canadians are PEOPLE.

There are good Canadians. There are rotten Canadians. Just as there are good and rotten people all over the world. I’ve met many people who exemplify both traits. Some really motivated people actually exhibit extreme examples of both good and rotten traits! These people make me tingly and faint, mainly because I don’t know what to make of them. Then again most of us can be judged by various portions of the population to be both good and rotten. It really is a relative judgment call.

So, what do Canadians do that make them distinctively good? Why is it so much easier to pick out rotten or annoying traits of people? Seriously, I need help with this one. Perhaps people from other countries who have encountered Canadians may have a better perspective on this.

Entry filed under: canadian, Canadian/American relations, culture, humour, nationalism, You Know You're Canadian When.... Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Drunk History Canadian Bacon

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. missscribbler  |  February 3, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    Oh, Canadians are ok really. They have a bad habit of labeling things as Canadian when you already knew that or that aren’t at all (famously one tried to convince me Alexander Graham Bell the noted Scotsman and inventor of the telephone was Canadian). Give ’em a chance.

    Reply
  • 2. C. Fraser  |  February 3, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    You should read my post on What I Don’t Like About Canadians – I say pretty much the same thing you have.

    Alexander Graham Bell was born in Scotland, and then moved to Canada. First Nova Scotia and then, if I remember correctly, Brampton Ontario, before moving to the States (Boston I think). When he invented the phone he was in America, but Canadians have as much claim to him as Americans do, ultimately. And more ultimately, it really doesn’t matter in the long run. I think we should all just celebrate the invention without moralizing the Nationality of the person involved!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Sources of Humour

Humor-Blogs.com Humor Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory Blogerella

Recent Posts


