Revisionist History: Cats and Confederation.

March 5, 2008 at 1:03 am 11 comments

Early in the history of this blog I wrote an article called “It’s Official: Cats Run This Country!” Little did I know at the time how true this was; it’s actually scary. I think I’m prophetic, or a prophet or something of that ilk. Maybe psychic? I’m not sure.

I was recently privy to some documents discussing early Canadian history. One of the documents was a leather tome — a diary — written about an event that has been buried away from public knowledge. I understand why officials wouldn’t want this information to leak out, but I’ve decided that ‘truth’ is more important than preserving the integrity of our Founding Fathers.

(The Charlottetown Conference. What mysteries will be revealed about these men? What is their connection to cats? All will be revealed. Photo from Library and Archives Canada.)

 

What I discovered from reading the diary was that in the early part of 1864 a pre-Charlottetown meeting took place in preparation for the ‘official’ first meeting to discuss confederation between British North American territories of Upper Canada (Ontario), Lower Canada (Quebec), New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland, and Prince Edward Island.

Tensions were high between the territories and trust was low. Each territory decided to send a single representative to a secret location, which was revealed to be Prospero Island, part of the Thousand Islands archipelago located in the St. Lawrence River.

In an effort to relieve some of the tension surrounding this meeting the delegates decided to keep things light and social. Discovering that they were all cat lovers, they agreed that each delegate could bring their favourite cat to the meeting.
On the surface this seems like a good idea; everyone loves cats, right? Little did the delegates know that it was a recipe for disaster. Due to this decision — bringing cats to the meeting — Confederation almost didn’t happen. In fact two of the six territories, Newfoundland and P.E.I., initially decided not to join, and I now believe that the reasons for their decision can be traced back to this meeting, and to the actions of cats.

(Are cats evil? I’ll let you decide.)

In part 2 I will introduce you to some of the individuals involved in the Prospero meeting.

Entry filed under: canadian, culture, history, humour, nationalism, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

I’m Totally Going to Use This Sometime… Revisionist History (Part 2): The Players.

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. raincoaster  |  March 5, 2008 at 1:51 am

    Yes, cats are evil. Duh. Can I skip to the advanced part of the test now?

    Reply
  • 2. raincoaster  |  March 5, 2008 at 1:53 am

    Yes, cats are evil. Duh. Can I skip to the advanced part of the test now?

    Reply
  • 3. C. Fraser  |  March 5, 2008 at 2:41 am

    Well done! The next question is, ‘Why are cats evil?’ The answer must be in essay form, no less than 97 words, but no more than 126.5 words.

    Best essay gets a cat.

    Reply
  • 4. paulmct  |  March 6, 2008 at 7:25 am

    Ah, the teaser trailer. Want to find out what happened? You have to come back again. Way to increase traffic.

    😉

    Reply
  • 5. C. Fraser  |  March 7, 2008 at 3:05 am

    Paulmct: That thought did cross my mind, and it might work. My main thinking, though, was that I want to keep posts shorter.

    When I started writing this post I realized that it would take quite a bit to get everything I wanted into it, and so I decided to split it up into three posts.

    Reply
  • […] History (Part 2): The Players. This is the second part of a three part series. Please read Revisionist History: Cats and Confederation first, otherwise you won’t know what the hell is going on. I can’t guarantee that even […]

    Reply
  • 7. GµårÐïåñ  |  March 13, 2008 at 3:19 am

    This kitty is adorable. But I know there is an evil something somewhere 🙂

    Reply
  • […] you haven’t already, I suggest you read Part 1 and Part 2 before proceeding, otherwise you will think that I’m critically insane, rather […]

    Reply
  • 9. TheAgedCat  |  March 14, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    Okay, there oughtta be a rating system for photos like the one above … Rated E for EVIL!!

    (but we sooooo want to snuggle with it just the same!)

    Reply
  • 10. Comic Relief « The Aged Cat  |  March 14, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    […] Revisionist History: Cats & Confederation […]

    Reply
  • 11. C. Fraser  |  March 14, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    harharh….I think he’s a mostly sweet looking kitty, with that touch of evil that kitties SHOULD have. All interesting kitties have it anyway.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Sources of Humour

Humor-Blogs.com Humor Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory Blogerella

Recent Posts


