Canadian Iconography: Hockey Edition

May 22, 2008 at 12:39 am 2 comments

In celebration commiseration over Canada’s silver medal finish at the recent World Championship – they lost to Russia – I decided to take another look at Canadian symbols. This time we will explore iconography associated with Canada’s favorite sport: Tiddly winks. Hahaha *wipes tear from eye*, no, no, I jest. Hockey, of course.

The Puck: The hockey puck is Canada’s greatest contribution to the world. OK, I’m not entirely sure that the puck was even invented in Canada, put can you imagine any other nation coming up with such a thing? Not only can the puck be used for sports, but it can also be used as a coaster to put your beer on while you watch a game of hockey on T.V..

The Stick: There’s an old saying in Canada that the bigger your stick, the more likely it is that you will score. Scoring is, of course, the ultimate goal of playing hockey, so it’s a good thing to have a big stick.

The Missing Tooth: There’s another old saying in Canada that men with missing teeth are very sexy. If this is true, Canadian men are some of the sexiest in the world.

The Sweater:



Entry filed under: canadian, culture, hockey, humour, nationalism, Views of Canada. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Beer + Canadian = Canada Canadian Political: I Voted, Have You?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. planetross  |  May 22, 2008 at 12:55 am

    I haven’t seen that CBC animated short in years.
    Thanks 🙂

    p.s. The largest hockey stick (and puck) are in Duncan, B.C.

    Reply
  • 2. C. Fraser  |  May 22, 2008 at 1:15 am

    I love the Sweater! I hadn’t seen it for years either until I though of adding it to this post. Watching it makes me all warm and fuzzy.

    Thanks for the info on Duncan, B.C. I’ll have to check it out next time I’m out west. I won’t bring my girlfriend to see it, though. Just in case.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Sources of Humour

Humor-Blogs.com Humor Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory Blogerella

Recent Posts


