Canadian Music: The Most Dangerous Song in History

May 29, 2008 at 11:44 am 4 comments

(Don’t listen to this song!!! Seriously, you’ll regret it)

This is a follow up to my 10 minute challenge on Canadian Bands. How could I forget Spirit of the West (SOTW)?

SOTW was around during the 80’s and 90’s. In the early 90’s they released the most seditious song ever recorded: Home For A Rest.

What makes this song so dangerous? The combination of music and lyrics makes it impossible not to drink a beer and stomp around your house, or bar, or workplace – wherever you are – while listening to this song, whatever the time of day. It’s 7:00 a.m. right now and I’m already drinking.

This song is pure trouble. I was in University when it came out. That meant a lot of drinking and stomping about, much to the chagrin of neighbours – my own and my friends.

So, don’t listen to it, people. For your own good.

*I know you are probably thinking something like, “Well, retard, why did you link to the video if you don’t want us to listen to the song?’ Good question. The only answer I can give is that, as mentioned above, I’ve already been drinking beer, and so my critical reasoning function is compromised. That’s my excuse.*

*You might also be thinking something like, “Hey, retard, are you really drinking a beer at 7 o’clock in the morning? ” The honest answer is, no, but I’ve been thinking real hard about drinking a beer. Sometimes thinking about things real hard makes it kinda feel like it’s actually happening. Not that there is anything wrong with having a beer in the morning. I’ve done it before. Well, not for a long time, but, yeah, sometimes you wake up and think “Damn, I really want a beer right now,” and so you open your fridge and get one.  It happens, just like feces and American Idol tours.*

Entry filed under: beer, canadian, culture, humour, music, opinion, personal. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Canadian Music: The Ten-Minute Challenge This Reminds Me of Some of My Coaches…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Surrealist Dreamer  |  June 2, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    I love this song. It’s the first time I have heard of it. They remind me of the Pogues.

    As far as drinking beer in the mornings. It’s something I do once in awile. I mainly drink during the day or evenings though. Only a pint or two though. I have gotten past the stage of overdrinking. I am very thankful of that 😛

    Great blog BTW.

    Reply
  • 2. C. Fraser  |  June 2, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    It’s a great song, isn’t it? They do share the Celtic influence with the Pogues.

    I’m with you on the beer drinking. I rarely over drink, and when I do I treat it more as a cleansing – if I drink a lot it usually means I don’t have much to do the next day and I’ve been stressed, and need a bit of change.

    Doing this helps me to recharge and regain a calmer perspective. In other words, I take a more ‘spiritual’ view of the process and it’s a conscious decision, whereas I use to constantly drink lots just for the sake of drinking lots, and so I would have stories to tell about how much I drank. It wasn’t very healthy behaviour.

    Thanks for the compliment! Hope you come back and read more.

    Reply
  • 3. Ahmnodt Heare  |  November 20, 2008 at 3:45 pm

    I like this song, but this song isn’t as dangerous as anything Anne Murray sings. That’s my take.

    Reply
  • 4. C. Fraser  |  November 21, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    *shivers* Anne Murray. Thanks for reminding me…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Sources of Humour

Humor-Blogs.com Humor Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory Blogerella

Recent Posts


