Canadian Days: Canada Day

June 30, 2008 at 9:36 pm 4 comments

Since this is a blog on Canadian concerns, and tomorrow is Canada Day, I suppose I should make a post about something Canada day related. Something…

Hmm…

…uh…yeah…Canada Day…

Huzzah?

The thing is, I tend to shy away from nationally and spiritually sanctioned holidays. Not that there is anything wrong with them, but  I celebrate being a human everyday, and I live in Canada every day–lately– and all is good every day, and I celebrate that goodness.

Through my blog I try to celebrate all things Canadian in my own little way on a regular basis, so why put so much effort into one single day of celebration? Besides, the usual community celebrations are, typically, quite dull and a waste of time,and taxpayers money. Yes, that’s my opinion, and you should enjoy your time in whatever way you choose to spend it, which may include joining a community Canada Day celebration. I hope you have fun.

As for me, I’m going to spend it either cycling around Toronto, or sleeping most of the day before getting up and teasing my cat. Either way it’s going to be a good day.

What are you doing for Canada Day?

Entry filed under: canadian, culture, nationalism, opinion, personal, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Canadian Heroes: Storm Troopers Canadian Nature: Ogopogo Wants Your Flesh

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. daranee  |  June 30, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    In America, holidays tend to get much more attention if somehow associated with drinking. I’ll try and drum up some Canadian whiskey tonight.

    Reply
  • 2. C. Fraser  |  July 1, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    Canada Day is a big celebration here. Most people tend to head to their cottages to party-down there. I have a tendency to avoid large crowds, though, much to my own detriment at times.

    Happy upcoming 4th.

    Reply
  • 3. Sun Warrior  |  July 5, 2008 at 12:10 am

    I left the country… for the States… then I got home before their Independence Day… whew!… got around those two days… 😉

    Reply
  • 4. C. Fraser  |  July 7, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    Hope it was a good trip, Sun Warrior!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Sources of Humour

Humor-Blogs.com Humor Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory Blogerella

Recent Posts


