Canadian Thoughts: I Don’t Get It…

September 18, 2008 at 1:02 am 8 comments

When I read blogs, I tend to read humour-blogs.  Often I’ll read a whole bunch of blogs in a single sitting.   I admire the posts that make me laugh, and then try to figure out how to steal the material.  I shake my head at humour-blogs that I really don’t think are funny at all, and yet have fifty-two million replies to every post, each one exclaiming what a  brilliant and insightful writer the blog owner is.

Then I’ll check out a random link to a new blog, hoping that it is funny so that I can add it to the roster of sites that I regularly read.  Instead I’ll find myself floundering.  Even the humour-blogs that I don’t find funny I can at least tell that they are meant to be a humour-blog.  But this new blog is something else.  Where’s the humour?  Why is this supposed to be funny?

That’s when I’ll realize that the blog isn’t meant to be funny at all.  It’s a different type of blog.  One of those non-humour-blog blogs.  You may have heard of them?   I have become so wrapped up in reading humour, that it is difficult for me to make the leap to a different type of writing.

That’s when I know it is time to take a break.

Entry filed under: personal. Tags: , , , , .

Canadian Fermentation: Update What Happened?

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Alex L.  |  September 18, 2008 at 6:15 am

    Enjoy your break but come back soon!

    Reply
  • 2. C. Fraser  |  September 18, 2008 at 11:43 am

    Hehe…it’s a short break. Usually getting a good night’s sleep helps.

    Reply
  • 3. Meg  |  September 18, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    When you’re part of a humor blog catalog there’s a lot of pressure to be funny. I don’t consider myself humorous–it’s just the crazy people I live with can be slightly amusing when seen through the lens of a pint glass. So I write about them. And then I drink more to forget.

    Reply
  • 4. C. Fraser  |  September 18, 2008 at 12:30 pm

    Good points Meg. I’ve read your blog and consider you funny – you have the observational-humour angle down. I enjoyed your post on your recent trip to the Toronto Film Festival – being from Toronto myself – and I’m looking forward to part 2. I think drinking is a key to being a humour bloggist too.

    Humour is such a strange thing. I can read a post on two different days and have two different reactions: it depends on my mood.

    Also, those humour blogs that I don’t really like, but get lots of comments, I can often understand why people would like them…but that particular brand of humour just doesn’t do it for me. Whereas I think I”m bloody hilarious, but also understand that my type of humour probably doesn’t go over well with a lot of people because I’m really not trying to connect to my reader’s experiences in any concrete way, but rather I tend to go off into my own inner fantasy land and spew it out through this blog.

    At least that’s what I tell myself to soothe my ego over my abysmally low readership….*insert sobbing noises and river of tears*. Mainly I’m just jealous of those blogs that get fifty-two million replies for each post.

    Time to drink.

    Reply
  • 5. Jeffrey Ellis  |  September 21, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    Heh, I agree completely — I just don’t get half of these blogs that are completely retarded yet have a crapload of commenters on every post.

    And you spell “humor” funny, LOL.

    Reply
  • 6. C. Fraser  |  September 22, 2008 at 11:06 pm

    Thanks for your comment, Jeffrey. I can kind of get why some people find these blogs funny, and I respect the fact that humour is a very personal thing, but sometimes it does make me question the sanity of humanity.

    Then again, some people are just really good at promoting their blogs. That probably helps a tremendous amount.

    Reply
  • 7. Mark  |  September 23, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Yeah, what gives with the comments thing? Why do some blogs get lots of traffic but little in the way of comments. Do they smell? Are they intimidating? (In a smelly way, of course.)

    I admire your stubbornness in continuing to add the “u”, eh?

    Reply
  • 8. Ovia  |  September 25, 2008 at 9:48 am

    The blogs are crated to gain information who visit the blog. But there must also be some funny in that blog to entertain the blog visitors.

    _______________
    mousami

    Sreevysh Corp

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Sources of Humour

Humor-Blogs.com Humor Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory Blogerella

Recent Posts


