Sean Avery Makes The Word “Moron” Seem Like A Compliment

December 3, 2008 at 2:25 pm 5 comments

I don’t often post about hockey, which may seem strange for a blog on Canadian things, and, to be quite honest, I’m not sure why I don’t post more about hockey.  I play the game, I’m an unabashed Leafs fan, and I’ve followed the NHL since I was a wee lad.

And, yet, it takes Sean Avery to make me want to post about hockey.  I’m posting because I think Avery is a moron.

This is Avery’s latest:

“I am really happy to be back in Calgary, I love Canada. I just want to comment on how it’s become like a common thing in the NHL for guys to fall in love with my sloppy seconds. I don’t know what that’s about. Enjoy the game tonight.”

I’ve been perusing the net and reading commentary on Sean Avery’s latest outburst.  Surprisingly – or maybe not so surprisingly – there are a lot of people out there who find Avery’s comments funny.  Most people don’t seem to get what it was, exactly, that he did wrong.  People are wondering why he was suspended.

What struck me first and foremost about his comment is his disrespect towards women.  If you are not familiar with Avery, he is an NHL player with some noteriety.  He has dated several actresses including Elisha Cuthbert, who is currently dating Dion Phanuef of the Calgary Flames, and who was the target of Avery’s comments.

How utterly disrespectful of Cuthbert is Avery?  Calling an ex “Sloppy Seconds”?  Seriously, any women out there think this is a compliment?  Or, any women out there not offended by being called a “Sloppy Second”?

My god, what is wrong with Avery?  What is wrong with all the people who think that this is funny?  I’ve seen comments about the brilliance of his delivery, how it was genius the way he set up his intended comment.  Are you kidding?  It might possibly be funny in the context of sitting in a comedy club, listening to some stand-up, but in the realm of hockey in a pregame interview which Avery initiated?

No.  That’s just moronic.  And if you can’t see that, then it says a lot about your attitude.  I wouldn’t go around telling women that you think it’s funny to call them Sloppy Seconds.  Go ahead, try it.

Moron.

Entry filed under: opinion. Tags: , , , , , .

Ha Ha Ha – Canadian Politics Why Can’t I Be You

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Burton Heaslip  |  December 3, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    bbbbbborrrrrrrinnnnnnggggggggg

    this is the most poorly written article i have ever seen. It went from a Sean Avery bashing, to a pro feminist, men’s attitude bashing article about how woman should be treated, just weird.

    Reply
  • 2. C. Fraser  |  December 3, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    Thanks for your comment, Burton. Your comment is obviously good, and you are advancing the discussion. Well done! You are an enlightened individual. If only we were all as astute as you.

    Oh well. Maybe next time.

    Reply
  • 3. Ahmnodt Heare  |  December 3, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    I think the appropriate punishment for Steve Avery should be the following:
    1)Ban him from the NHL
    2)Mandate that he join a figure skating club.
    3)Mandate that he wear a chastity belt.

    Hopefully this will teach him to respect women.

    Reply
  • 4. Burton Heaslip  |  December 3, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    Wow, thanks for the compliments!

    Reply
  • 5. C. Fraser  |  December 4, 2008 at 1:33 am

    Future President: Sounds good! I would say ban him from the U.S. too, but then he might move back to Canada.

    Burton: No problem. I figured you need it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Sources of Humour

Humor-Blogs.com Humor Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory Blogerella

Recent Posts


