Canadian Television: Just For Laughs Gags

April 18, 2008 at 11:53 pm 6 comments

You may be aware of the annual Just For Laughs comedy festival in Montreal. If you’re not, then what the hell is wrong with you? It’s a major event attracting the world’s biggest comedians.

A half-hour television show has spun off from the festival, called Just For Laughs Gags. This show is a series of hidden camera gags that a crew pulls off on the streets of Montreal. The shows producers let the camera do all the talking; we don’t hear anything that’s said between the actors and those being gagged.

I think this is a great way to present this show. Here’s an example, one of the best gags I think I’ve seen from the show:

I can’t quite put my finger on it, but the show has a distinctly Canadian feel about it. It’s somehow different than other hidden-camera gag shows I’ve seen.

What do you think about it? If you’re Canadian, does it have a Canadian feel for you? If you’re not Canadian, does the show relate with your opinion on Canada and Canadians?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Canadian Salty: Ketchup Chips Oregon Vs. Ontario

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. pKay  |  April 19, 2008 at 5:46 am

    Hahahahaha, that is one of the funniest videos I have ever seen…

    Having said that though, I did not know the just for laugh show was fillmed in Montreal! Ah I learn new things every day!!

    Keep it up :D!

    Reply
  • 2. C. Fraser  |  April 21, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    Thanks for the comment pKay. To be honest, I’m just extrapolating that the show is filmed in Montreal.
    I have seen episodes where they will use a fake police officer with a police car, and the car is obviously from Quebec – so although it may not be Montreal, the show is filmed in Quebec.

    Reply
  • 3. Ramses  |  May 17, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    I love that show. Really adore it. And I also love that blonde girl on gags hehe:D

    I’m from Georgia/Europe

    Reply
  • 4. C. Fraser  |  May 19, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    Glad you enjoy it! It’s a fun show.

    Reply
  • 5. Lyyti  |  September 12, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    We’ve been previledged to see your gags in tv in Finland: YOU ARE THE BEST !!!!! LOVE YOU DEARLY !!!!!

    Reply
  • 6. Anonymous  |  August 5, 2014 at 1:21 am

    I love the show and feel of the candian programming especially because it is filmed in Montreal, with the wide sidewalks and outdoor feeling only Montreal offers.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Random Sources of Humour

Humor-Blogs.com Humor Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory Blogerella